Chained to Approval

We are born not knowing how people operate…how they react…how they love or don’t–we are but a blank slate when it comes to understanding how the people of this planet conduct themselves.

We learn–trial and error–as we go along. We pick up behaviors, habits…crutches (idols). Crutches become a way of life–automatic–so deeply ingrained that we don’t even realize we’re using them. Crutches may be one of the following: control, anger, people pleasing, lying, cheating, overeating, under-eating, or name your poison.DSCN1970aMy crutch was people pleasing. It had been my constant companion for so many years that I couldn’t remember not using it. I didn’t (and still don’t) like to have anyone anger or upset with me, therefore, I would try to keep peace at all cost. My crutch became so much a part of me, I didn’t even recognize I was using it.

However when it became obvious I was clunking around on a crutch I felt powerless to say no. I became frustrated, angry, weary, and bitter. I longed to rid myself of people pleasing, but I couldn’t or wouldn’t stop–the consequences were far to scary.people pleaser
I was chained to the approval of man. I was not walking in freedom. The Lord had delivered me–saved me from my sins–but I like the Israelites was not walking in faith. The Lord had delivered the Israelites from Pharaoh, they had seen the ten plagues and how the Lord had spared them, yet they still did not walk in freedom. When things began to look dim they wanted to return back to Egypt to slavery. And when Pharaoh drew near, the children of Israel lifted their eyes, and behold, the Egyptians marched after them. So they were very afraid, and the children of Israel cried out to the Lord. Then they said to Moses, “Because there were no graves in Egypt, have you taken us away to die in the wilderness? Why have you so dealt with us, to bring us up out of Egypt? Is this not the word that we told you in Egypt, saying, ‘Let us alone that we may serve the Egyptians: For it would have been better for us to serve the Egyptians than that we should die in the wilderness.” Exodus 14:10-12.  

The Israelites were delivered, yet they wanted to return to the chains of slavery. They were delivered, but they were not walking in freedom. They wanted to return to the chains they had just been rescued from. Why?

We know the feel of our chains–we’ve worn them for a long while–and even though they may not be pleasant they are familiar. We fear what the unknown may hold so we revert back to the familiar. Our chains may be unpleasant, repulsive, and must assuredly unhealthy but they are familiar therefore we return to them.

Isn’t it time we throw of the chains of people pleasing and walk in freedom? Christ gave His life so that we might be free.

In the fall of 2012 the Lord decided it was time I walked in freedom. He brought me to my knees and showed me it was He I was called to please, not man.  I won’t tell you I’m not tempted at times to pick those chains back up, but the Lord has been faithful to help me walk in freedom.

Blessings, Kasey

8 thoughts on “Chained to Approval

  1. Hi, Kasey! I recently finished working through Beth Moore’s Breaking Free. What a freeing journey that was! It’s a hard journey to let go of strongholds we’ve always known, but God makes it possible … and His plan is better than mine anyway. I’m glad you linked up at Three Word Wednesday.

    Like

    • Kristin, Yes…it’s no easy task to let go of strongholds. I’m grateful the Lord helped me to give mine up. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Always great to read what others think. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Blessings and grace, Kasey

      Like

  2. That is a difficult chain to break. I have struggled with people pleasing as well. My biggest crutch would be food though. I use it far too often. Thanks for this wonderful story of finding freedom. God has brought me freedom from many past addictions and I know food will be the next chain to break!

    Like

    • Candace, Oh, I can relate when stress mounts it’s oh so easy to reach for chocolate or some such thing to releave the pressure. Our God is faithful and will give us the strength to break all chains. Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your chains and freedoms! Blessings and grace, Kasey

      Like

  3. It is easy to fall flat into that role of trying to please man, but it is a dangerous place to be. For me, I am learning that I have to choose to trust that HE is always going to accept me and that lessens my need to please others. I am so thankful for His grace.
    Blessings!
    Dawn

    Like

    • Dawn, Pleasing man is a never ending battle. Thankfully we don’t have to do anything other than be ourselves for God to accept and love us. He our creator finds us lovable just the way He made us…isn’t that freeing. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your heart! Blessings, peace, and grace, Kasey

      Like

    • Mary, Thanks for stopping by and sharing an encouragement. God was faithful to release me from the chains of people pleasing and it has been the greatest blessing. We serve one amazing God! Grace and peace, Kasey

      Like

Leave a comment