Twenty-one Years

Twenty-one years ago today, with stars in my eyes and love in my heart, I slipped into a white velvet dress and said, “I do!”

DSCN5604a

A bride of twenty-five and a groom of thirty-one would become one. For this reason a man will leave his father and his mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. ‘So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Mark 10:7-8.DSCN5291

Polar opposites in many ways: I a country bumpkin, he a city boy; I a talkaholic, he…well…he does talk; I a financial misfit, he a financial wizard. The years have ironed out a great many of our wrinkles and smoothed out our rough edges until we are more one than two.DSCN5293

Two boys and two girls (blessings), one born in each season, grew our family to six. (The title of my blog–Four Season of Blessings–was birthed in honor of our children.)DSCN5295DSCN5296

Last December my husband and I went on an anniversary trip. First stop the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina–a bit like stepping onto the set of Downton Abbey at Christmas. Trees, evergreens, and bright red poinsettias were woven throughout the house.

Next stop Charleston, South Carolina…a must see city for all history buffs. A beathtakingly, beautiful place to visit and explore. We rode trolleys and took a horse-drawn carriage ride and did a great deal of walking, seeing the sites of Charleston (limited parking…riding trolleys and walking is the best way to get around).

The restaurants in this town were terrific and if you every visit this city I highly recommend: Poe’s Tavern, Page’s Okra Grill, and Hyman’s Seafood.DSCN5780DSCN5781

We visited several historical homes, toured Fort Sumter, and took in the sites at Boone Hall Plantation–we tossed around several names of three or four plantations in the area and randomly picked Boone Hall. We learned that the movie, The North and The South, (the one with Patrick Swayze) had been filmed at Boone Hall. When I was in high school I recorded the entire movie and watched it over and over again…so many times that I could quote the lines before they were spoken. It wasn’t so much the plot or story that I enjoyed it was the costumes, the set…all the historical features (I’ve always loved history). God gives good gifts! Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17.DSCN5776

DSCN5775

Most of the Wreaths of Christmas were taken during our visit to Charleston, last December.

Blessings, Kasey

Leave a Reply

