God’s Shining Light

My oldest son and I sit, flipping through magazines, in the eye doctor’s office waiting for our appointment.DSCN5569a

“It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year” plays on the radio.  An older gentleman–once vibrant now on decline–waits.  Confusion cloud’s his mind–making him angry.  He is going from the light to darkness–dementia.  It could be any of us…someday this robbing of the mind.  Compassion for this man wells within, and I am reminded that for some…it may not be…the most wonderful time of the year.

Trees adorned in holiday dress–multicolored lights glowing bright, glass bulbs sprinkled with glitter, tinsel having like shiny icicles, and of course red and white striped candy canes suspended from branches. Boughs of evergreens draped over arches, candles illuminating windows, and bright red bows complementing green wreaths.  Christmas carols play festive over radios, seasons greetings arrive in the mail, and happy holidays are sang from one and all.  By all accounts it does seem to be the most wonderful time of the year.  However, for many, it is not.

Illness, loneliness, family strife, and hearts that have been wounded and broken–all are present.  Yet we often expect this to be the one day of the year when all is perfect.  Why do we expect so much?  Why do we put such pressure on ourselves?  When even our Savior’s birth was not the perfect situation.

A young unmarried virgin is pregnant–an offense which could have resulted in her being stoned–with the Son of God.  Her betrothed almost divorced her.  She had to travel pregnant without car or bus to Bethlehem.

Joseph also went up from Galilee, out of the city of Nazareth, into Judea, to the city of David, which is called Bethlehem, because he was of the house and lineage of David, to be registered with Mary, his betrothed wife who was with child. (Luke 2:4-5).

There were no hospitals or even a vacancy at the inn for which to deliver her child. No, she gave birth to the Savior of the world in a stable–with animals standing near, the aroma of muck and filth hanging in the air.

 And she brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.  (Luke 2:7). 

God’s Son–the Savior of all mankind–came into this world in a less than favorable environment. Perhaps it’s time we give ourselves a break, stop worrying whether we have all our ducks in a row, and practice a simple Christmas focused on the One who is the reason for the season–Jesus. Let’s show His love to those who are hurting and in need of hope. Tell the true story of Christmas…God’s story of love and redemption. He who is our Healer…Redeemer…Savior. Let the light of God be what shines bright this Christmas!

Count Blessings, Kasey

       

12 thoughts on “God’s Shining Light

  1. This is so in line with my less-is-more theme that is part of Christmas for me this year. Thanks for affirming what God has been telling me. I’m glad you linked up for #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Like

    • Kristin, The last several years God has been whispering to me…simple Christmas as well. We have so much, thanks to the Lord…we must remember to praise and give Him the glory. Thank for your thoughtful words. Blessing, Kasey

      Like

  2. Amen. Yes, perfection is not real and we need to be alright with less than those expectations. I have finally learned (I am 67 now) that Christmas is about Jesus and God’s Love for us that even brought His One and Only Son to this earth bringing this love. The old man in the beginning was my mother. Dementia took so much of her mind at times that I never knew just who I would be going to see. Yet, God walked with me every step of the way for 15 years and gave me the best gift every day. His Son came for me, for ones such as I. Thank you for writing these words, for listening to the Holy Spirit as you wrote.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    Like

    • Linda, My heart went out to that man in the eye doctors. He was a patient at that eye doctors, but he did not have an appointment…however he thought he did. He was still living alone and luckily the doctor’s office had a number to call his daughter. Such sadness for one so confused to be all alone. I hope his daughter after that incident made different living arrangements for him.
      After my dear grandmother suffered a stroke she no longer knew her family…it was heart breaking to have the one you love not know you. I’m sorry to hear about your mother having to suffer through such a horrible disease and for you who had to watch…that must have been truly difficult. Thankfully God walked you through every moment. Thank you so much for your precious words! Have a Christ-centered Christmas! Blessings and grace, Kasey

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, Kasey…I am saddened that the man was so mixed up, yet he was doing the best he could. Before moving my Mom near to me, she would get lost on the way to the doctor’s or park her car on one side of a building and then leave via another door only to be unable to find her car and then report it stolen. I was living 1500 miles away and the sister nearby just could not see that there was a problem. So my other sister and I plus Mama’s dear friend (the one I wrote of in my current post who just died) decided she needed to be near me. Mama always knew me and I am so grateful, but she was so confused, frightened, hallucinatory, angry, and delusional. It was so hard, as you said, watching this bright woman go through so much. I was sad for her and worn out for me! Yes, I pray the man’s daughter could see clearly that changes needed to be made. Thank you for your words and for replying back to me. ~ linda

        Like

      • Linda, You and your mother went through a great trial…thankfully you mothers always knew who you were. Hopefully one of these days there will be a cure for this awful disease!
        The eye doctor’s staff handled this situation with love and kindness. Hopefully this incident will help this man’s daughter to realize that he probably shouldn’t be living alone. It may have been a blessing in disguise.
        Grace to you, Kasey

        Like

  3. Kasey, I’m thanking God with you for the hope that is in Jesus in the midst of this world that is so sin broken! Happy to be here from UNITE!

    Like

    • Elizabeth, So grateful we have a wonderful Savior to give us hope and an eternal promise. Thank you for sharing an encouragement. May the light of Christ shine bright this holiday season. Blessings and grace, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

