We Are on the Same side!

It’s true we have a common enemy, but it’s not with one another!  We, friends, are on the same side!IMG_7487a

The evil one slipped into paradise and hissed doubts into Eve’s ear. (Genesis 3:1). She listened to the serpent’s words, took that forbidden bite, and a chasm–ocean’s wide–emerged between us and God. Satan, a slithering serpent, cursed–sentenced to crawl on his belly and to eat dust all of his days–is unmistakably our enemy! (Genesis 3:14).

Friends, our enemy would love nothing better than to see us fighting with each other! Battling over things that have no eternal value.

A few weeks ago, I was waiting in line at a drive-through when I spied a rectangular magnet stuck to the back of a vehicle in front of me that read, “Holy Bible” in big bold letters.  Just under the words Holy Bible read, “King James Version 1611.” The words Holy Bible was what first grabbed my attention, but when I read the words, “King James Version 1611” I was a little taken back–was this person trying to say that the King James Version of the Bible is the only true translation of God’s Word.IMG_7477a

I was about five or six-years-old, dressed in my Sunday best, siting next to my mother in church when I asked her what the preacher meant by King James Version.  She explained to me that some people believed only the King James Version of the Bible was the only true translation of God’s Word.

All these years later are people still trying to prove that the King James Version of the Bible is the only true translation of the Word of God? When we live in a world…in desperate need of God’s Life Giving Word are we really going to fight over which translation someone reads? Shouldn’t we just be glad that God’s Word is being read?

IMG_7476a - Copy

The first of October I took my girls on a weekend trip to Louisville, Kentucky for my oldest daughter’s fourteenth birthday. Before making the four hour trek home on Sunday morning we visited a local church not far from our hotel. As my girls and I were walking into the santuary a women ahead of us said, “Flip flops!”and her husband responded by saying, “That’s enough, stop, that’s enough!” It took me a moment to realize that the women was referring to my girl’s feet–who were both wearing…yes “flip flops.”

I was surprised but not offended. However, ten year’s ago I would have been embarrassed…mortified in fact, and most likely would not have gone back to that church, ever again. Not because I was angry or mad but because I felt foolish.

Words spoken carelessly can have eternal impact. “…You must all be quick listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.” (James 1:19). IMG_7475a - Copy

My point, friends, is this we are in a battle and it’s not against flesh and blood! We don’t have time for legalism, personal preferences, and most importantly fighting over ministry–we are on the same team! God needs all of us, He’s big enough to give all of us work that needs doing without battling one another for it.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.” (1 Corinthians 13:13). The greatest of these is love! There’s a whole world out there in need of love. When the whole world is waiting we don’t have time for division!

I’ll leave you with these words, friends. “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” (1 Thessalonians 5:11).

Blessings, Kasey

6 thoughts on “We Are on the Same side!

  1. Some of the believers coming to settle in America, like the Quakers, threw the King James Version overboard. It was issued by the king and they knew that he had an agenda. It’s not better, but I grew up with relatives who thought so. Many people love religion more than relationship and it can puff them up. I hope your daughters learned a good lesson about the religious people complaining about their flip-flops. Thanks for linking on Amanda’s Books and More!

    Like

    • Christina, Thanks for commenting on my post. I didn’t know that bit of information about the Quakers…thanks for enlightening (I love to learn about History). It truly amazes me how we humans can kind so many ways to find fault with one another. Blessings and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

  2. Pingback: Heart-Filled Fridays 21st Edition {Link-Up Party} | Womanhood With Purpose

Leave a Reply

