The Weeds of Sin

The weeds of sin grow up in my heart–it’s a constant battle, cutting them out. They always return as all weeds do–oh, how, I wish they wouldn’t but over and over they grow back.

It’s even more frustrating when it’s the same old weeds–the very ones I just repented of and asked forgiveness for.DSCN3184b

A judgmental heart, a critical spirit, and words spoken that are best unsaid. I hear the Spirit whisper softly, “Weeds need to be cut.”  The flesh has once again given ground to the weeds of sin.

I just want to show love to the broken and hurting souls of this world–no strings, no conditions, I want to shine the Lord’s light on hopeless hearts, and be the hands and feet of Christ, but the seeds of judgment begin to take root and I feel frustrated at my inability to control my flesh. But all is not lost because the LORD looks at the heart and He knows my desire.

…For the LORD does not see as man sees; man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7.

God is a God of second chances, always willing to forgive anyone who repents and turns from sin.

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace Ephesians 1:7.        

Blessings, Kasey

 

12 thoughts on “The Weeds of Sin

  1. Such a good post! Sin is so much like weeds, just as you said and so frustrating since it feels like we are always dealing with it. I have the same issues continue to pop up too and it reminds me of what Paul said about the flesh versus the spirit. We so need God’s grace! Thanks so much for sharing at Make My Saturday Sweet!
    -S.L. Payne, uncommongrace.net

    Like

  2. I think sin is a daily fight everyday for everyone. God puts his forgiveness in our heart so we seek him out each day!

    Like

    • Tracy, So true…God puts his forgiveness in our heart so we seek him out each day! Our constant need for Christ’s forgiveness continually draws us near to Him. Thanks for sharing and stopping by. Have a blessed day, Kasey

      Like

  3. It is so true. It has often amazed me how deeply rooted weeds can be causing them to be quite resistant to removal. Like you, I am grateful His mercy & forgiveness runs deeper still! Visiting from Wedded Wed. & I think this is my very 1st time here. Nice to “meet” you 🙂 Have a great Wed.!

    Like

    • Joanne, Nice to “meet” you as well. Ah, to be free of the weeds of sin. Just as you said, the roots of sin run deep, just when we think we have them nipped in the bud–bam they rear their ugly heads again. So glad you stopped by, hope you will visit often. Blessings and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

  4. This speaks to me in so many ways (especially seeing sin as a weed– I love gardening and always see life reflected on it). I am constantly praying for a weed-free heart. It seems so hard at time especially when the flesh takes over and it seems that we cannot get out of the cycle. Thankfully, as you mentioned, God is such a great Father and so full of Grace for us.

    Maria {Shoots + Roots}
    http://shoots-roots.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • Maria, When I thought of how sin just keeps creeping up, weeds immediately came to mind. No matter how hard we try to get rid of them, they always raise their unwanted heads again–just like sin in our lives. Thankfully we have a forgiving Father in heaven. Thank you, dear friend, for stopping by and sharing your wisdom. Hope you will visit again. Blessings and peace to you, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

