Perfectionism

Is it possible to rest when perfectionism shadows one–day and night? Perfectionism is striving for perfection–flawlessness, no spot or wrinkle.   Perfectionism is an unattainable goal, and yet, a perfectionist believes anything less than perfection is wrong… worthless…without value.

Perfectionist set impossible standards for themselves and those they interact with.

Perfectionist are overly critical and demand excellence from both themselves and those around them.  They can be a terrible task-master.

Perfectionist often measure their identity, self-worth, or self-esteem by their accomplishments.

 

Requiring oneself to achieve unrealistic goals can only lead to dissatisfaction and failure.PicMonkey Collage perfectionIf one is only at rest when all is perfection and perfection is never obtainable, is it possible to find rest when the perfection monkey is hanging on your back?  If anything less than perfection causes one’s temperature to rise and irritation bubbles up within one’s soul and the result is an explosion that tops the most volatile of volcanoes is rest possible? If one’s stomach is always churning because perfection is an impossibility–I ask you, one more time–is rest possible if one is a perfectionist?

I think not. Perfectionism robs one’s soul of rest/peace. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28.

If  your soul is weary and burdened from trying to please the perfectionist within then, perhaps, it’s time to lay down the thorn of perfectionism and come to the Lord for rest.

Blessings, Kasey

 

8 thoughts on “Perfectionism

  1. Thanks for sharing this and linking on Amanda’s Books and More. I struggled with this in my life and had a breakthrough around age 19. Have you ever read C.S. Lewis’ book, Mere Christianity? I read it as a teenager. It was one of the books that helped me. Lewis explains that God exists and that He is perfect and that we (the human race) can know this is true without ever needing to read a Bible. How? Because we all believe in perfection, but we know that on earth it is unattainable to us. I think my main breakthrough was when I decided that my righteousness was not my own doing, but God’s. He enables me to do what is right, so He gets the glory and not me. And, that the Promised Land was all about entering His rest on a daily basis, a lifestyle, which we have access to through Christ Jesus (as you said above). Wishing you a blessed week ahead.

    Like

    • Christina, Praise the Lord you were able to break the perfectionism stronghold at such a young age. Thanks for sharing your wise words on how to overcome perfectionism. I have not read C.S. Lewis’ book Mere Christianity, but I will put it on my reading list. “His rest on a daily basis, a lifestyle, which we have access to through Christ Jesus”…what a blessing. Grace and peace, Kasey

      Like

  2. Kasey, thank you for sharing. I have come a long way in getting the perfectionism monkey off of my back. I still have a little ways to go, but am thankful that God continues to reveal that I will never attain to perfection this side of heaven.

    Like

    • Barbie, We will never attain perfection this side of heaven…oh, how true! Once we take hold of this truth we begin the journey to freedom in Christ. Take care, my friend, blessings and grace, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

