The Hatmaker’s Heart

Today, I’m excited to share with you a great summer read–The Hatmaker’s Heart by Carla Stewart. I, a fan of history, loved reading and learning about the 1920’s. The following is a brief description of the book.

The Hatmaker’s HeartThe Hatmaker’s HeartFor Nell Marchwold, bliss is seeing the transformation when someone gets a glimpse in the mirror while wearing one of her creations and feels beautiful. Nell has always strived to create hats that bring out a woman’s best qualities. She knows she’s fortunate to have landed a job as an apprentice designer at the prominent Oscar Fields Millinery in New York City. Yet when Nell’s fresh designs begin to catch on, her boss holds her back from the limelight, claiming the stammer she’s had since childhood reflects poorly on her and his salon.But it seems Nell’s gift won’t be hidden by Oscar’s efforts. Soon an up-and-coming fashion designer is seeking her out as a partner of his 1922 collection. The publicity leads to an opportunity for Nell to make hats in London for a royal wedding. There, she sees her childhood friend, Quentin, and an unexpected spark kindles between them. But thanks to her success, Oscar is determined to keep her. As her heart tugs in two directions, Nell must decide what she is willing to sacrifice for her dream, and what her dream truly is.

My personal opinion:  This book had me from page one–a real page turner! The author has a real talent for description and detail, transporting you immediately to the 1920’s. I loved learning about high-fashion, jazz age (and the hang outs of the time), prohibition, and all the fun things of the 20’s. A charming story with great characters. A must read for all history buffs.

The 1920’s was an exciting era in our nations history. If you would like to learn more about the 1920’s, I highly recommend this book–it truly is a great read.

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher to review.

You won’t want to miss the following giveaway.

Don’t miss the first book, Rumspringa’s Hope, in Beth Shriver‘s new Spirit of the Amish series.
Beth is celebrating the series launch with a Kindle Fire Giveaway!

rumspringashope-400-click
One winner will receive:

  • A Kindle Fire
  • Rumspringa’s Hope by Beth Shriver

Enter today, but hurry! The giveaway ends on June 22nd. Winner will be announced June 23rd on Beth’s blog.

Don’t miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to stop by Beth’s blog on June 23rd to see if you won.

Blessings, Kasey

4 thoughts on “The Hatmaker’s Heart

  1. I am linked up next to you over at Wedded Wednesday with Beth. Thanks for sharing about this book. I really don’t read novels anymore. Not in years. If I have time, I enjoy reading a book on spiritual aspects. For years I would read a book on home education when I had the chance.

    Like

    • I usually read Christian non-fiction myself, however my oldest daughter (13) loves to read and by reviewing books I can get books for free for her to read (since I read them first I know if I want her to read them or not). So glad you stopped by. This book really has been one of my favorites, because I love history and I got a chance to learn a little more about the 20’s. Blessings and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

    • Bernadyn, If you like Historical fiction I’m sure you would enjoy this book. So much detail especially with the designs of hats–material, beads, sequins. Thanks for sharing your thoughts–I always enjoy reading comments. Have a great summer! Blessings and peace to you, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

