Seasons Of Substitution

Day in and day out our minds are inundated with information–opinions, facts, lies, and truths. Everywhere we go information is being thrown at us sometimes subtly others times through a bullhorn–billboards, magazines, phones, newspapers, television sets, computers, and the list goes on. Therefore, we must filter what our eyes, ears, and minds take in and discern what is truthful and what is false.

Our culture has been spouting for years that we can do it all and do it all well–there will be no losers. When I was a young girl there was commercial for enjoli perfume it went something like this, “I can bring home the bacon, fry it up in a pan, and never, never let you forget that your a man–enjoli.”–do not know who wrote this commercial.  Men and women have been duped into believing they can have it all–and without casualties. DSCN3153aaWe can wear many different hats, but we can’t wear them all at once. We are humans and humans need rest–otherwise we will crash and burn. Even God rested. By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. Genesis 2:2.  The whole idea that we can do it all and have it all is a falsity. There will be seasons when we have more obligations to fulfill than at other times. When we are in a season where our plates are abundantly full we need to set aside some of our usually task until our busy season passes.

I’ve just come through one of those seasons where I had some extra outside commitments to fulfill–Collecting Hope Project and Refresh with One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp (I’ll be posting on this project soon). I’ve had to cut back on my blogging for a time. I still have a few more things on my plate to finish before my life goes back to normal. However, by allowing myself to blog only when I can and not worry about blogging when I can’t has resulted in my not dropping any plates; and I’ve not been stressed with to much to do.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 tells us, “There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the heavens:”  There will be a seasons for everything; just not everything in one season.   

I’ve heard it said, “That if Satan can’t get us away from God any other way, he’ll keep us to busy to focus on God.”–author unknown

Blessings, Kasey

14 thoughts on “Seasons Of Substitution

  1. This is a timely message for me Kasey. With the summer months approaching and weekends filling up quickly, now is the time for me to consider my priorities. I need some balance in my life because I can not do it all. Time in prayer with God is needed for his guidance on what I might need to step away from. Thank you for the encouragement. And thank you for sharing with TWW. Blessings.

    Like

    • Beth, Thanks for sharing. We often think summer is a time for rest and vacations, however before we know it we are over-booked with events, activities, and perhaps to much fun. Too much fun can turn into us being overwhelmed and burnt-out. Blessings to you for a Spirit lead summer, Kasey

      Like

  2. I needed to hear this today, sister. So much. Thank you for reminding me to slow down a bit and rest. (I think there might be a nap in my future 😉

    Blessings to you, Kasey! Thanks again for sharing this over at #EverydayJesus. You always make my day.

    Like

    • Sharita, Sometimes we just have to give ourselves permission to slow and rest. I’ve learned that if we try to do it all, we don’t do anything well–and more importantly our families are the ones who suffer. Take that nap, sweet friend, and have a blessed weekend, Kasey

      Like

  3. Kasey, your discernment to only do what you can during your busy season is such a great message to put out there. I am new to the Blogging world, but my plate is full too, but I still want to encourage through my Blog. I am unsure of the correct posting rules, but it doesn’t matter, I post when I can so priorities can stay in check and there’s no pressure. I have enjoyed reading your post. Good stuff!!! Have a blessed weekend.

    Like

    • Cathy, Welcome to the blogging world. I’ve only been blogging since November 2012, so I’m kinda a new blogger myself. I too, write to encourage others. 1 Thessalonians 5:11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. I came into blogging after going through a difficult season of too much and I have learned that we can’t do it all. I had surgery (gallbladder removed) a week ago and in three weeks my oldest daughter (13) and I are going on a mother daughter retreat to Canada, therefore I’ve given myself permission to slow in my blogging–I’ve learned I can’t do it all. I love blogging, however in this season I’m not pushing myself to do more than what I’m capable of. So glad you stopped by!!!!! Let the Lord lead you in how much to do and blog–He knows us better than we know ourselves. Blessings and grace to you, sweet friend, Kasey

      Like

  4. A wise perspective, Kasey. Thank you for sharing, I pray you recover well from surgery and have an uplifting time on your upcoming retreat – how fun!

    Like

    • June, Thank you for your prayers. Tomorrow marks one week since I had my surgery. I’m feeling pretty well. I’m looking forward to spending time in the wilderness (2 hour from civilization) with my daughter. Our first trip to Canada. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Blessing and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

    • Nina, You are so right, we must always listen for His gentle voice. When we start making our own places things quickly go a muck. Thanks for stopping by and sharing. Grace and peace to you, Kasey

      Like

  5. I have also had to pull back from writing. We cannot do it all and when we try, in our own strength, we burn out. Thank you for sharing your wisdom at The Weekend Brew!

    Like

    • Kym, Limits make us human–burnouts and breakdowns will result when we think otherwise. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. Blessings and peace to you, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

