Accidents

There was a phrase that people used to say, it went something like this, “It’s nobody’s fault …accidents just happen.” Accidents just happen…they’ve been happening since the beginning of time they’ll continue to happen until Christ returns–they will always be apart of our everyday lives–end of story. Or is it? Have we forgotten “The Golden Rule”? “So whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also do to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets. Matthew 7:12. Would we wish an accident spun into something more? Would we want someone to grab the nearest lawyer and haul us into court…over an accident? Do we want people to gain monetarily over an accident? If yes, can we ever feel secure?DSCN2678aDSCN2677

As I was grocery shopping one evening I brushed against a fire extinguisher and “bam” it fell and landed on my foot–all forty pounds. Oh, yes, it hurt and I limped to finish my shopping.

I noticed that the fire extinguisher-holder was broken and had been barely hanging there. Did the grocery store know it was broken…most likely not. Was it the grocery store’s intent that one of their customers would be injured…mostly likely not. Could I have grab myself a layer and proclaimed negligence…probably. Bu,t perhaps the better question should be, should I? I think not–common sense needs to play a factor–because…accidents just happen.DSCN2684DSCN2681DSCN2680DSCN2682

My local grocery’s driveway is on a small hill that slops down toward the store. I stopped by one morning for a few groceries. I placed my milk in the child’s seat and my groceries in the basket. As I was unloading my groceries into the car, the weight of the milk and the slope of the driveway caused the cart to turn over and my milk flew out of the cart and down the parking lot. My first thought was if a child had been in that seat they could have been hurt badly. Although it would have be terrible I don’t believe the grocery store ever thought someone might get hurt due to a slopped packing lot.

We could never pass enough laws to protect ourselves of ever being harmed. Even with all the laws we have in place, people still have accidents. I think we should remember…accidents just happen and do our best to follow “The Golden Rule”.

The photos above were not taken in either of the two stores I spoke about in this post.

Blessings, Kasey

8 thoughts on “Accidents

  1. Love your thinking on the subject…we need more of that in this world. Also, the photos are great. 🙂 Thanks for the insight and perspective on the subject. Have a great week ahead.

    Like

    • Sweet Peabea, I’m so glad you stopped by and shared your thoughts. I must tell you I was a little worried about posting this blog…not sure how it would be received. Your encouraging words has put my mind to rest. Blessings to you, Kasey

      Like

  2. Awesome words, Kasey! And I love your photos. We have become such a litigious country that people think they have the right to sue for every little thing. But you are right, sometimes accidents just happen.

    Like

    • Sweet friend, I miss the days when things were so much simpler. It saddens me that people have to worry about having someone sue them at the drop of a hat–that common sense has gone out the window. But on a Happier note the photos were taken in Amish country in Shipshewana, Indiana. My husband and I spent a few days their last summer. I’ve been saving these photos for just the right post. I thought it was the cutest little restaurant/store–both inside and out. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

