Words Are Powerful

Words are easily spoken, they fall from our lips with little thought to future consequences, but once articulated they can’t be retrieved. They have the potential to impact social injustice, forthcoming laws, budgets, the start of a war or end to one and ultimately life and death. The tongue can bring death or life; those who love to talk will reap the consequences. Proverbs 18:21.DSCN1569a

One word–charge–and thousands may die; a word from the governor and one my be pardoned–a life saved.  Words are influential, compelling, and persuasive; they have enormous power, are far reaching and may have long, lasting effects.

The tongue can be as venomous as a serpent–manipulating, lying, defaming, twisting half-truths for personal gain–ruining one’s good name for years to come. Often the tongue carelessly tosses about words without thought to their effects–crushing spirits, crippling souls and impacting someone’s reality for decades. Impressionable hearts and minds my be shaped or misshaped by a reckless tongue.

Who better than the tongue to spew sarcasm, hurl cruel taunts, and fling mocking remarks. Oh, how the tongue slices spirits and rips jagged holes–stealing hopes and wounding the heart. And…oh, yes, harsh words and name calling hurts. The old saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me.” Not true, they can impose devastating effects.

But…wait…the tongue imparts grace and gives hope. Gentle words laced with love may be the balm that soothes a broken heart–a symphony to the soul. A mother’s sweet words ease a child’s hurt, right’s wrongs, and nurtures a tiny soul. Word’s cultivate a feeling of being cherished–loved.

Words have the ability to paint beautiful images in our mind, transport us to a different time or place. Words can be wrote as a melody and sang as a song. Words help us learn–to be educated.

How is it possible that words can both annihilate and speak love? We can find the answer in James. Every sea creature, reptile, bird, or animal is tamed and has been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. We praise our Lord and Father with it, and we curse men who are made in God’s likeness with it. Praising and cursing come out of the same mouth. My brothers, these things should not be this way. James 3:7-10.

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as it fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. Ephesians 4:29. Paul counsels us to us our mouths for building each other up and extending grace. Saturating ourselves in God’s word prepares us to do both.

We find God in His word. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. John 1:1.

We must recognize the power of words. They are more than random thoughts half-heartedly spoken–they are life and death. Le’ts use our words to edify one another and extend grace.

Blessings, Kasey

32 thoughts on “Words Are Powerful

    • Lyli, The message has such a great way of phasing words. I like, “they’re either poison or fruit–you choose”. Thanks for blessing me with your thoughts. Grace to you, Kasey

      Like

    • Jen, So glad you stopped by and shared your thoughts. Colossians 4:6 is a great life verse. I love…let your speech be gracious, seasoned with salt. Have a blessed week. Grace and peace, Kasey

      Like

  1. this is great! such truth! i always remind myself, especially in the realm of mothering that my words will either speak life or death over my children. thank you so much for sharing! glad to have found you through a mama’s story link-up!
    Katie
    thelaneabove.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Katie, You are so right about mothering…our words speak life or death over our children. Thanks for your thoughtful words. Glad to meet you friend. May your week be blessed. Grace to you, Kasey

      Like

  2. This is a wonderful post. You’re right our words can have so much power. We need to use them as He wants them used. Often I need to stop and pray before I speak, I don’t always do that and later regret it. Visiting from Three Word Wednesday

    Like

    • Sweet friend, You are so right…if we could only remember to stop and pray before giving our tongue reign, what a difference our words could make. Thanks for sharing your thoughts…it’s always a blessing to read others thoughts. Happy spring, Kasey

      Like

  3. Yes, the tongue and its power. How often I fail to put a guard over it and out slip the small sparks that create such destruction. Thankful for God’s amazing grace and His ever working in my life.
    Thank you so much for linking up with Words of Life Wednesdays, Kasey

    Like

    • Rebekah, I too, often fail to put a guard over my tongue. When we think about how our words have power–life and death–if gives me pause to try and remember to do so. Blessings my friend and happy spring, Kasey

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for linking up today. Yes, words – even just a single word – can bring so much life or pain. We must choose our words carefully and thoughtfully. Thank you for this reminder.

    Like

  5. Wow.. wonderful post and a great reminder. As a mum I try my best to remember that “words are so much powerful when said to tots as well”. Thanks for reminding about the power of words.

    #FridayLinkyParty

    Like

    • Nishana, When my four blessings were tots, I often, would grab my camera (rather than get upset) when they got into something they shouldn’t and started snapping photos. When I was done taking pictures I’d be calm and had a memory captured on film of their shenanigans. Once they wrote all over themselves with markers. It’s one of my favorite pictures. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

    • Marwa, Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts…its always great to read what others are thinking. Words truly are powerful! If we always remembered to use them for blessing others what a changed world we would live in. Grace and peace, Kasey

      Like

  6. Oh Kasey girl! Such TRUTH in this post… Much like Jen (above) I have given up complaining for lent (in my head and my heart.) It has already spilled over (in a good way) to include all words that don’t give life to others, including myself. Thanks for this great reminder!

    Like

    • Sharita, I had never thought of giving up complaining and criticizing for lent…but you and Jen brought it to my attention and I’ve been really working on this area of my life. I have a love for coca cola and have fasting from it. If we fasted year round from harsh words what a light to the world we would be. Blessings and grace, Kasey

      Like

  7. Kasey, this is a wonderful, and powerful, reminder of how words can hurt and lift others up. I do try my best to remember this but I know and area that still requires awareness of the words I’m using. Thank you for sharing with TWW.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Giveaway still running {Hearts for Home Blog Hop #58} -

  9. That was a nice reminder. Indeed, the tongue must be dealt with in a serious manner. Your blog post inspired me to write a poem!

    THE TONGUE

    The greatest danger is the tongue.
    But not so for the very young.
    The very young are innocent,
    not thinking of being pleasant.
    Accountability will rule among
    the adults, who should fear the tongue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

