Choose

Love can’t be bargained or negotiated for. It isn’t something you can haggle over in a contract. It isn’t even something you can buy. One must choose to give their love away. 

IMG_4716aDo we know this? Oh…yes, we say we do and in our minds we do, but what about in that little part of our heart that longs to be accepted–loved? Why do we work so hard for approval, accolades, awards…kudos? Why doesn’t our heart choose to believe that love flows freely from one to another–with no strings attached? I suppose it’s a bit of a mystery.

Do the tiny hearts of our children know that they too, cannot earn love? Do we show these precious souls that we unconditionally choose to love them? Do we choose to tell them everyday how much we love them, so that they don’t feel the need to perform for us like a trained circus animal?

IMG_4714a

We don’t choose to serve in order to receive love. We choose to serve because of love–we wish to impart a blessing on another. Not out of obligation, out of the wellspring of our heart–because it would be impossible not! …choose this day whom you will serve…But as for me and my house we will serve the LORD. Joshua 24:15.

Love is a free gift that blooms in ones heart and its fragrance is felt by another. Choose this day…to show someone, you love them.

Blessings, Kasey

38 thoughts on “Choose

    • Jane, Thanks for the encouragement. My son (15) took the photos for me–he got a camera for Christmas and enjoys taking photos. Have a blessed weekend. Grace and peace, Kasey

      Like

  1. Great post! Thank you. I loved this sentence “We choose to serve because of love–we wish to impart a blessing on another.” That I want to do in my life and pray that more and more it’s part of me when I’m working with children. Be blessed.

    Like

    • Tarja, You have such a pretty name. You have blessed me with your kind comment; I’m sure you bless others as well, especially children. Have a wonderful weekend. Peace and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

      • Tarja, I’m glad you were blessed. They are calling for a great deal of snow and ice for my weekend. Its been a very cold and snowy winter. Most folks around here are growing weary of the weather, but I think it’s so beautiful. Blessings, Kasey

        Like

      • 🙂 I’m sorry you have all snow. I’m in Finland and we missed all snow this winter. Our winter has been mild and without snow, very unusual. You probably got it all. 😉 I have to say I have enjoyed it this way very much. Be blessed!

        Like

      • Tarja, One of the great things about blogging is you get to meet people from all over the globe. I’ve never met anyone from Finland before, so it’s so great to meet you. We did get the snow that they were predicting, but not as much as first predicted–just a few inches. Blessings, Kasey

        Like

      • Yes, this is my home country. I have always lived here, but travelled quite much too. I will go and read it. Thank you. 🙂 Snow is fun and definitely needed here in the middle of winter because it’s so dark. When it turns to March I don’t miss it anymore though. I’m living in Helsinki area (meaning in south).

        Like

  2. And we choose to serve with love because He first loved us. What an encouraging post to read this morning. So glad you linked up with SDG.

    Like

    • Jen, Thanks for stopping by and leaving a word of encouragement. It’s always so fun to read what others are thinking. Have a great week! Blessings and grace to you, Kasey

      Like

  3. I shared some similar thoughts in a talk at a women’s event last week. Great thoughts here. Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

    Like

Leave a Reply

