Testing Of Your Faith Produces Steadfastness

IMG_3872aLast night the wind howled like an angry lion, whipping snow this way and that ironing out footprints, animal tracks, and tire marks until the snow was as smooth as a frozen pond. Imperfections gone, rough patches removed, and ruts erased.

When the wintery white once again looked like icing on a cake–pristine and white–temperatures warm, and snow begins to melt. Icicles that hang like stalactites from the eves begin to drip. Snow and ice loosen their grip upon the roof, crackling and banging ensue as bits of cold slithers down shingles, landing in broken pieces below.

Lacey covering of white recedes and becomes muddy–dingy and brown. The newness gone and the barren ground exposed. But if another band of flakes descend from the heavens all will be made well again.

Might this be a picture of our lives? We come into this world a picture of perfection, but hidden beneath the delicate features of a newborn is brokenness. As we journey through life–joy, suffering, and grace unfurls. The suffering breaks away our rough places (sin), joy following on its heels. We see the grace in God’s perfect plan–repentance and renewal.

Blessings, Kasey

8 thoughts on “Testing Of Your Faith Produces Steadfastness

    • Yvonne, It’s not always easy to count it all joy, but when we see how God can work all things for good our eye’s begin to all as joy. One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp does a wonderful job of showing how we can count it all grace. Thanks for leaving a comment, I always enjoy reading others thoughts. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

  1. This is a beautiful post, and I enjoyed it a lot earlier in the week. Thanks for linking it up with Recommendation Saturday! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    Like

    • Mary, I won’t say it’s always easy to understand trials and suffering, but I believe God can use them for good. I went through a very difficult period in my life (fall 2012) were I suffered with a terrible bout of depression. God used that period of time to get my attention. Before that time I feared man more than I feared God. Although that was one of the most difficult periods of time, I’m grateful God helped me to fear Him rather than man. If you would like to read my post Rosette Stone it will explain better. Also I’ve wrote a few post on depression that describe how awful it can be. I hope this helps, if you wish to ask me anything further please do. Also if you haven’t read One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp I highly recommend it. It helped me through that difficult time with depression. Ann can articulate beautifully how all is grace. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

