Encouragement

DSCN5224a

Encouragement should flow from our lips. Words that build others up, warm their hearts, and brighten their day. So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing. 1 Thessalonians 5:11. However, often it’s not encouragement that falls from our lips, rather it is words that stem from our human nature (sin condition…selfishness…pride).

Jealousy creeps in like the morning fog–silent but deadly. Oh, we wish it weren’t so, but truth be told it is.

We compare ourselves and become discouraged. We know we shouldn’t but somehow we can’t seem to resist.

Our rights have been infringed upon or so we feel. After all doesn’t the American culture scream it’s my right… ?

We become angry and all thoughts of encouragement fall away as unkind…hurtful…words fall from our lips like raindrops on a stormy day, fast and furious without thought to the damage they may inflict.

How do we escape it–this stronghold that we are constantly fighting against? All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23. We must go low, humbling ourselves before God. He must increase, but I must decrease. John 3:30. It’s a constant emptying ourselves and saying not my will but yours Lord.

For we are God’s masterpiece. He created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago. Ephesians 2:10.   May this verse bring encouragement to your hearts.

Blessings, Kasey

 

20 thoughts on “Encouragement

  1. “For we are God’s masterpiece. He created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” Ephesians 2:10. A powerful verse to complement your encouraging post, Kasey. One of my favorite. Glad I stopped over. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Oh did I need this today. I shared this morning how I had ended a chapter in my life this week and I did not handle in a Christ-like manner. My words were not kind. I’m in need of going low and humbling myself before God. Thank you for this encouragement today, Kasey.
    Blessings,
    Beth

    Like

    • Beth, Glad this post was an encouragement to you. I’m planning to write a post on humility in the near future–I’m researching for it now. Have a blessed weekend. Peace and grace, Kasey

      Like

  3. Great post! Yes, sad to say how easy it can be to find words that discourage instead of encourage, or focus on the negative instead of the positive. Fortunately, we have a big God Who can help us rise above what our flesh wants to do! I don’t always get there but God keeps working in me! 😉 Thanks for linking up to the “Making Your Home Sing Monday” linky party!

    Like

Leave a Reply

