Beauty Is Fleeting

DSCN4341aOur culture seems to be obsessed with how someone looks. The more handsome, beautiful, youthful you appear the better. I’m not talking about being healthy, combing your hair, brushing your teeth, and presenting your best self. I’m talking more along the lines of self-worship…vanity.

I was watching a show on television last evening where two young woman wanted to loss weight so badly that they were willing to have a piece of mesh sewn to their tongues for 30 days. If they ate any solid food their tongues would hurt preventing them form eating further.

I saw a commercial, just this morning about a Life Lift. The announcer of the commercial said something along the lines of, “For those who care about not looking old.”

We have doctors willing to nip, tuck, lift, and more. All this in an attempt to meet the worlds standards of perfect. A little like chasing the wind…don’t you think?

Will all this time, money, and energy…do anything…to better the world? I wonder…how does God feel about us always trying to change what He has created. For we are God’s masterpiece. He created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things He planned for us long ago. Proverbs 2:10.

I wonder what kind of place the world would be if we focused on our insides…selfishness, greed, vanity, ego…our sin nature. But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7.

Let’s spend more time working on are hearts…rather than our outward appearance. “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman (a man too) who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 31:10.  

Count blessings, Kasey

10 thoughts on “Beauty Is Fleeting

    • Sharita, I’m glad you stopped by too! After watching those two young girls have mesh sewn to their tongues, God laid it on my heart to write this post. How obsessed we’ve become with making our outside look good, but true beauty is found in the heart. Blessings and peace to you, Kasey

      Like

  1. I know when my weight is lower, I feel better, can breath better – and it affects my health. I think I am more interested in that now. – the health factor. I think when I started looking at myself as the Father sees me – it changed how I saw myself – and took the pressure off the outside and let the inside grow:) So many young girls taking photos of themselves trying to find something – how they need your message – to see them through His lens – only then will they be satisfied with themselves! Wishing you blessing in this New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

