Five Minute Friday – Reflect

DSCN0340a

Season’s Greetings, my friend! I’m excited you stopped by. I hope you will visit often! I’m hooking up with Five Minute Friday. You write for five minutes, unedited, on one word. Today’s word is Reflect. 

As I reflect back on my childhood, I  can’t help but feel sadness for a time vanished–cast away for progress.

Electronics were supposed to free us up, give us more leisure time to spend with loved ones, yet we are moving faster and are busier than any other time in history.  Have we gained or have we been sold a bill of goods?

We no longer have to find a quarter for a pay phone if our car breaks down on the side of the road, we no longer have to use an encyclopedia to find out who was the 27th President, we no longer have to miss taking a photo (our phones come equipped with a camera), and we no longer have to be unentertained for even a minute.

If we are always entertained how does this teach us to be still? Be still and know that I am God; Psalm 46:10. If we never have to wait for anything how does that help us to wait upon the Lord? Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD. Psalm 27:14.

I wonder, how do we rest when we never unplug (24/7 we are only a phone call away). It seems to me, it increases our stress rather than decrease it. On the seventh day God had finished his work of creation, so he rested from all his work. Genesis 2:2.

When texting is rapidly taking over phone call, I wonder, how this fosters…unity…communication…intimacy. And you must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.’ Mark 12:30-31. Can a few typed words replace a smile or a hug? Can they grow intimacy in a relationship. Can they convey LOVE.

This week, my husband and I attended a special training class at our church, lead by our pastor; in a small room packed with about thirty-five to forty people. In the middle of our pastor’s lecture a phone sounds. The owner, positioned in the back row of the room, answered the call and started talking as they climbed over people to exit the room. I wonder, who’s truly the master–the phone’s owner or the phone?

I hope my words have given you something to reflect on.

Count blessings, Kasey

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Reflect

  1. Kasey,

    Just joined 5 minute fridays myself and wanted to comment on your blog. In complete agreement with you. How many times have I thought this as well – sometimes as I reach for my own phone, ringing away:( Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • Thank you for dropping by. I could have gone on and on about this topic, but didn’t think I should preach. I think technology can be a useful tool, however, I believe for many it can be an addictive tool, especially to our youth. May you feel the peace of Christ this Christmas season. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

