Do They Know We Love Them?

DSCN5007a

Do they know we love them? Those children whom we love, who are on the breath of our every thought.

Do they know we love them? That love throbs through our veins with the urgency of a freight train threatening to burst our heart wide…open?

We train, guide, nurture, disciple, and plan for their future. Always preparing them for the day when they must leave the nest and fly…soar out into the world on their own. We sacrifice daily for them…sleep, time, finances.

Constantly pushing them to succeed–strive higher–do it well with excellence. All that we do spells L-O-V-E or does it? To us it spells L-O-V-E, but what does it spell to our children?

Does our enthusiasm show love…does it draw our children closer to God or actually drive them away? Do our actions say I love you to our children or do they say…I can never measure up…I can never please them…I will never be what they want me to be.

All our effects may be in vain if we don’t temper them with a whole lot of love and grace. In our ardor to prepare our children for life we must not sacrifice our relationship with them.

Do they know we love them? We must make sure they do…look them in the eyes (no matter their age), listen to their hearts (dreams), have fun (play), and loosen up–relax. We mustn’t forget that  God is in control and He loves our children more than we.  Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6.  We must bathe our children in prayer, teach them God’s word, and be a Godly example. Remember that saying, “More is caught rather than taught.”

Do our actions teach our children to love others unconditionally, extend grace, and live a life that brings glory to God. Or do our actions say…manage others (rule over them), crush spirits, and strive to succeed at all cost even if it means stepping on others to do it.

Do our children know we love them?

One final note, children measure love by T-I-M-E. We must spend quality time with them, love them unconditionally, and show them grace.

Count blessings, Kasey

17 thoughts on “Do They Know We Love Them?

  1. Thank you for sharing this! My children are all grown, but I love them more now than ever. The other day my grandson told me that I could get him toys like his Mimi, ( I am Nana), but I told him that I show my love to him by spending time with him. He, of course, understood that, and we spent a fun time together. It is precious to me to remember that time with him. God bless you:)
    http://holdingforthhisword.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/perfected-love/

    Like

    • I believe that the best gift we can give is ourselves. Your grandson is lucky to have a grandmother who wants to spend time with him. He will look back on this time with you with found memories. Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts. Blessings to you, Kasey

      Like

  2. Thanks for linking up again this week. Your link did not work again. Could you link up to be sure others find there way to you? Many blessings. So glad to have you as part of this Three Word Wednesday community.

    Like

  3. Kasey – Found your blog through weekend Brew! God is so amazing as my heart as an adoptive and foster parent! Who knew, I would land here! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your heart & what love really looks like to children. I so agree, we can push sports, academic, or success…but the reality is that we should be pointing our kids to Him, and that what they really want from us, is time. Blessings, Jen

    Like

    • Jen, Sometimes we are so busy training our children that we forget to stop and think how it looks to them. A long time ago I heard some advice from an older mother that I’ve never fogotten–children spell love T-I-M-E. How right she was. Your words are a blessing to me, so glad you stopped by. Peace and joy to you and yours, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

