Sunday Drive

DSCN4409

So glad you stopped by.  Today I thought I would tell you a story about counting blessings.

When I was a girl my parents liked to take what they called “A Sunday Drive” on Sunday afternoons. My brother (twenty-two months younger than myself) and I hated to go on “Sunday Drives.” My parents, however, just loved to take a drive in the country and enjoy the scenery with no destination in mind. For us that meant several hours in the car just driving around and all we wanted to do was go home and play; we didn’t have an appreciation for the natural beauty that we saw from our back window. Although my parents don’t always take their “Sunday Drives” on Sundays anymore, they still love to go for a ride and end up wherever the winding roads take them.

DSCN4508

Last October, I read a little book called One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp, it had a major impact on my life.  I began to see all the many blessing God has given us to enjoy.  Not only did I begin to see with my eyes, but my other senses seemed to come to life as well.  The warmth of the sun as it brushes across my face, the sound of insects serenading one another after the sun goes down, and the aromatic smell of pine as one walks through a wooded forest.

DSCN4507

We can become so used to all that we have, that it becomes ordinary and we take God’s gift for granted. But when we begin to count, the ordinary becomes amazing. No longer, do we take for granted, the blessings God gives.

I now enjoy going for a “Sunday Drive” on a hunt to capture on film the beauty of God’s creation.   Gifts…blessing from the Father up above.

Count blessings, Kasey

2 thoughts on “Sunday Drive

Leave a Reply

