Wednesday August 14, 2013

DSCN1477

So glad you stopped by.  Each day this month I will be posting a floral photo and a scripture verse.  Hope you will stop back by.  

Have you ever gotten into your car, drove to your destination, and discovered once you arrive, that you don’t recall the drive?  When I was in my twenties I worked about an hour from my home (highway driving).  I made the same drive day after day and sometimes when I would arrive, I wouldn’t recall the drive there.  It was a weird feeling and to be honest a little scary.

I think we can do this with our lives.  We’re coasting along, going through the motions and not really seeing all the beautiful and amazing things that God has given us.  Last fall, I read One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  Ann’s book challenges us to write down all the things that we are thankful for.  This book really  opened my eyes to all the wondrous things the Lord has provided.

When we make a conscious effort to either write down or snap a photo of all the things we are thankful for, we will be reminded of how wonderful the Lord is. Instead of going through the motions of life, we begin to look for the gifts.  We really see what is right in front of us.

I had to get up at about 6:30 this morning to drive my husband to work.  Our mini-van (the very one our second son was born in–if you want to read this story go to the post titled Snow Baby) needed to be dropped off for repair on our way to his work.  Because, I was I was looking, I noticed the mist rising over a pond, bright yellow sunflowers, and purple mornings climbing over a fence.

Taste and see that the Lord is good!  

Count blessings, Kasey

2 thoughts on “Wednesday August 14, 2013

  1. Yes, I’ve sometimes done this too…forgotten to be aware while doing something. You’re right, we can do the same thing with our lives. It’s a good reminder to live each moment with the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

