Friday Minute Friday -Lonely-And Five Random Things

DSCN2187Glad you stopped by.  Each day this month I will be posting a floral picture with a verse from scripture.  Hope you will drop back by.  Today I’m linking up with Five Minute Friday and Random 5 Friday.

For Five Minute Friday you write for five minutes unedited on one word–today’s Five Minute Friday word is Lonely.   

Lonely (Random Friday 1)

I knew way back in junior high that I wanted to be a wife and mother.  Oh, I planned to go to college, which I did, but deep down my real dream was to get married and have children.

When my dreams were fulfilled and I was both a wife and a mother I was very surprised to find out how lonely, I felt.  One of the loneliest times in my life was when my children were infants and toddlers.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved my children desperately, I was thrilled to be a mother, and I wouldn’t have traded my children or my life as a wife and mother for anything in the world.  What I am saying is that motherhood can be a very lonely endeavor when you have no one to talk to all day long.

I live in the country surrounded by fields of corn.  I had no other young mothers as neighbors, just the goats across the street.  Most of my girlfriends worked full time.  As, I’m sure your all aware, men say a lot fewer words in a day than women, therefore, when my husband came home at the end of the day he was pretty much talked out.

I’m here to tell you theirs a difference between being alone with young children and just being alone.  When it’s just you…you can read a book, watch a movie, work on a craft project, prepare fancy foods…do a great number of things. However, with young children you can’t talk on the phone, read a book, cook a meal, etc, without constant interruptions.  Your time is not your own.

To sum this up.  Motherhood is a glorious privilege from God, one I wouldn’t trade for all the tea in China, but I remember it can be a very lonely time for young mothers.  Therefore, take notice when you see a young woman out with her little ones, give her a smile and a hello, compliment her on the good work she is doing.  It only takes a moment to brighten someones day.

Stop

(Random Friday 2- Our son (14) put the candles on his dad’s cake)

DSCN3137a

(Random Friday 3, 4 – Neat finds at library)

DSCN3140

Catching Raindrops by Crystal Hoblit

DSCN3139a

Our Farm Four Seasons with Kids on One Family’s Farm by Michael J. Rosen 

(Random Friday 5 – It’s raining here, I’ll soon have rust-colored sunflowers to post)
Five Minute Friday
Count blessings, Kasey

8 thoughts on “Friday Minute Friday -Lonely-And Five Random Things

  1. I love your description of lonely out in the country which is so true. Love how you have placed it in words. Sarah From the FMF coming over from the hope journey!

    Like

    • I grew up in the country and have always enjoyed living here, but when my children were little (0,2,4,6) it could be very lonely without any adult’s to talk with. I still live in the same home as when my children were little and I now homeschool them (10,12,14,17) and they are great company. I don’t grow lonely like when they were little. Don’t get me wrong I loved them just as much when they were little but I would have enjoyed having a close friend nearby. Now that they are older I once again love living in the country (I like my privacy). Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

    • I soon discovered there was a difference between being alone and being alone with young children, when mine where little. Oh, you love and enjoy them, but women need other women to talk to. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Blessings, Kasey

      Like

Leave a Reply

