Gluttony

Whoever keeps the law is a discerning son, But a companion of gluttons shames his father.  Proverbs 28:7

Four the drunkard and the glutton will come to poverty, And drowsiness will clothe a man with rags. Proverbs 23:21

DSCN1533

I’m not what you would call a shopper–oh yes, I shop for groceries and things my family needs–but I don’t spend hours and hours haunting the malls.  I have neither the time nor the desire for such.   The majority of my shopping experience is price matching and couponing at Walmart.

Last weekend, I was helping chaperone eight, twelve to thirteen year old girls for a thirteenth birthday party.  Shopping at the mall was on the list of fun party activities.  After several hours of browsing store after store I found a nice leather chair in front of Holisters (I think this was the name of the store, it was a surf shop–my first visit ever) and plopped down and waited for the two other mothers and girls to finish in the store.

I sat watching person after person walk past the store and began to wonder why they were there.  Was it because they needed to purchase something or was it just for pleasure?  Almost everyone (young and old) sported a cell phone and was appropriately dressed–no one appeared to be truly in need.  I began to feel a since of sadness and I thought of all the people in the world who are truly in need and the word glutton popped into my mind.   Could it be that we Americans are guilty of being gluttons?

The definition of the word gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.   As I looked around the mall, at all the things that where available to buy, I became convinced that we are a society of excess.  How many pairs of shoes does one person need?  We can only where one pair at a time.  Although we wouldn’t wish to call ourselves gluttons,  if we continue to buy, buy, buy and collect more and more things…then what are we?  Are we a nation meeting our needs or are we just indulging ourselves with our wants?

If we were prepared to meet our needs, rather than our wants, I believe it is highly possible that all the world’s hungry could  be fed.

How much is too much?

I guess that’s a question each one of us must answer.

Blessings, Kasey

Leave a Reply

