Ministry Of Motherhood

For you, brethren, have been called to liberty; only do not use liberty as an opportunity for the the flesh, but through love serve one another. Galatians 5:13 

DSCN0740

For those of you stopping by who may be experiencing infertility or have experienced a miscarriage I want you to know my heart goes out to you.  I’ve experienced two miscarriages and understand how painful it can be to loss not only your precious baby but the dreams, hopes, and plans you have for that new life.  Draw near to God and allow Him to comfort your heart.

DSCN1221

Sixteen years ago, I was absolutely thrilled to be expecting my first child.  I was like most new mother-to-be’s:  creating a nursery, visiting my OB, and dreaming of my new child.  My sweet grandmother said to me, “Once that baby gets here your never sleep again!”  I laughed thinking she was exaggerating just a little bit.  Boy was I wrong!  I was so sleep starved the first year of my son’s  life that I would have paid money for a good nights sleep.

Prenatal vitamins, blood tests, OB visits, and childbirth classes were all a necessary part of preparing for my babies arrival.  However, once our little boy was born the only requirement necessary to take him home was to change his diaper.  The nurse came into my room the day after our little boy was born and asked me if I’d changed his diaper, since his arrival.   I told her I hadn’t–thinking to myself  “Isn’t that your job?”  I mean after all where in the hospital, aren’t you supposed to be taking care of us?  Apparently not, because she promptly told me I would not be aloud to take him home until I changed his diaper.  It wasn’t that I minded changing his diaper, I was just clueless, after all I’d never been a mother before. The most important job I’d ever have and there was no schooling, on the job training, or even an owners manual–just change one diaper.  Seriously, one diaper?  Yes!

My husband and I decided it couldn’t be all that hard to change one diaper and after all we did want to take him home, so we gave it a shot.  I must confess it was a little harder than we had originally thought.  It took both my husband and myself about five tries before we successfully changed his diaper.  You see, we just weren’t fast enough, every time we got his diaper off he would christen either his clothes, blanket, and one of us and we would have to start all over.  We were both a little worried at this point.  If we couldn’t even change one diaper, how were we going to meet all his other needs?

Since we passed the diaper test they allowed us to take our little bundle home.  You might say we learned as we went–on the job training.  Yes, we made more mistakes, but we’ve continued to do our best and spend much time in prayer.

I believe if we are privlegded enough to be called mother, then motherhood is   our ministry.  It’s easy to get caught up in serving others and loose sight of our own mission field–the one under our roof.  Raising future men and women up to serve the Lord is a worthy calling.

Oh, it may all seam so mundane, but I assure you it is not.  We are modeling servanthood when we cook our families meals, wash our families clothes, clean our families house, and meet needs.    Just as Jesus came to serve just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve and give His life as a ransom for many.  Matthew 20:28

For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul?  Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?  Matthew 16:26 .  I wonder if we get so busy serving others that we forget our own children.

When we pray for our children, show them affection, and love them, aren’t we loving our neighbor as ourselves… but you shall love our neighbor as yourself:  I am the LORD.  Leviticus 19:18b.  

When we teach our children about our Lord and Savior, we are practicing Deuteronomy 11:18-19  Therefore you shall lay up these words of mine in your heart and in your soul, and bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  You shall teach them to your children, speaking of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.  Deuteronomy 11:18 -19

The Creator of the Heaven and the Earth entrusted us with these children.  A high calling (parenthood) to instruct and teach our children God’s Word.

I also feel that the Lord uses these very same children as a way of refining us.  For You, O God, have tested us; You have refined us as silver is refined.  Psalm 66:10    

When we give up sleep, time, and money…we learn to sacrifice.  When we wipe noses, clean diapers, and find lost shoes…we learn to be a servant.  When we lose our temper…we learn to humble ourselves and ask forgiveness.  When our children lose their tempers…we learn to extend forgiveness.  When we have to wait for endless appointment…we learn patience.  What better way for the Lord to refine us, than through our children and our spouses.

The Lord has given me four blessings.  They are four of the instruments God is using to refine me.

Dear mother, father, or whoever’s popping by: loving, raising, and guiding our children is a worthy calling.  Families are crumbling and children are floundering.  We are to be in the world not of the world.  The culture tells us our children need to be involved in this activity and this activity.  Running our children from this activity to this activity has become the norm in child raising.  These things may we wonderful, but here’s the but…not at the expense of family time–dinner around the table, walks, board games, and one on one time talking with our children.  Our children need us fully present…mind, soul, and body.  Please pull out God’s Word and see what the Father of the universe has to say about parenting.


Our children give us many gifts to count.

…hugs

…smiles

….love

…encoureagment

…a greater purpose

…infinitely more…

Count blessings, Kasey

P.S.  After four children, I’m happy to report I can change a diaper almost anywhere and with efficiency.

Buttercup

Leave a Reply

