Five Minute Friday – What My Mama Did That Made Her Mine

Therefore comfort each other and edify one another, just as you also are doing.  1 Thessalonians 5:11

DSCN0987

My mom loves her children (3).  Even if she’d never said the words “I love you”–which she did–it was apparent by her actions.  She was my school homeroom mother, baked cookies for classroom parties, went on field trips, was my Girl Scout leader, helped make Valentine boxes, homemade Halloween customs, colored Easter eggs,  and picked out presents for birthdays and Christmas.  Although she did all the special things above, the one thing I remember the most is how she provided comfort to me.

Whether  I was ill, recovering from a broken heart, or just in need of a shoulder to cry on, my mom provided comfort.  When I was little and had come down with some sort of ailment, she would make me a bed on the couch and provide me with warm 7-Up (we didn’t get pop, all that often), jello, and toast.  Up and down all night, keeping watch that my temperature didn’t get too high.   Showering me with extra attention when I felt my worst.

When I started dating and had my heart broken more times than I care to remember, she would sit beside my bed, stroking my back, offering loving encouragement, and listening to me cry my eyes out.   Many times she had to sit up with me till late in the night, sacrificing her sleep to give me comfort.

Now that I’m the mom and have so many people counting on me, and no longer have the luxury of lying on the couch and have mom wait on me, I really appreciate what she did for me.  Sometimes when I’m really ill, I think how nice it would be to have mom come and take care of me.

The comfort of your mother, is always needed, even when you become a grown woman.

Thanks, mom!   I love you!

Count Blessings, Kasey

Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – What My Mama Did That Made Her Mine

  1. Hi Kasey
    You are a blessed woman to have all these fond memories of your mom. She reminds me so much of our Pappa God who is the best parent ever! Over via FMF. Oh, that young love that never seems to work out!!!
    Much love
    Mia

    Like

Leave a Reply

