Random

DSCN0232aI often hear my oldest son, sixteen, say to one of his friends, “That is so random.”  The definition of the word random to a teenager either means funny or cool.  However, the Houghton Mifflin Company Dictionary defines random as having no pattern or objective; haphazard.  The dictionary’s definition better defines how this blog is going to go–random.

Only four weeks ago we ushered in a new year, and today we mark off one full month of 2013–gone!  The one word I continue to hear God whisper is SLOW. Is it even possible to slow down, when the whole world seems to be moving as fast as a locomotive?  Yes, I believe it is.  Not only do I believe it is possible, but I have been doing just that.  Slowing down, breathing, trying to live like life isn’t an emergency (Ann Voskamp-One Thousand Gifts).  My life was moving like a whirlwind, moving way too fast, and I didn’t want to wake up one day and remember my children’s childhood as a blur.  A blur of activities, but no special moments.  Moments that build relationship, character, beautiful moments, and love.  For the last couple of months I have been practicing SLOW.   Every moment that goes by will never come again; therefore go SLOW, make every minute count,  and make sure however you choose to spend your time, it will have lasting significance.

I believe BEAUTY ignites joy within us.  Even in the dead of winter we can find BEAUTY-snowflakes, sunsets, etc.  When we see the same things over and over again–or the same four walls–we begin to take them for granted. I’ve devised a plan to add a touch of BEAUTY to my home, by changing the decorations in my living room each month.  Giving it a fresh new look, adding beauty to the ordinary, yet keeping it simple.  

SLOW, BEAUTY, and most importantly the BREAD OF LIFE–GODS WORD.   My four children and I are reading through the Bible in a year.  To be transformed into the image of God there is no other way than to read HIS WORD, be in His presence, and spend time in prayer.  We cannot expect to know our Great God without spending time with HIM.  

Count Blessings, Kasey     

Buttercup

Leave a Reply

