Count your blessings, name them one by one…

DSCN0209

“Worthy is the Lamb who was slain

To receive power and riches and wisdom,

And strength and honor and glory

and blessings!”  Revelation 5:12b.

DSCN0225

  

   A memory from long ago–filed away when I was just a girl–came drifting to mind…count your blessing, name them one by one.   Was it a verse from scripture?  Perhaps a song once sung in church?  I wasn’t sure, so I googled the words “count your blessings, name them one by one.”

     A song wrote by Johnson Oatman Jr. (Chicago, Illinois:  1897)“Count Your Blessings.”  Then, I remembered.  How many times must I have sung this song as a child–that I do not know.  But the melody I can still recall.  A  resurrected memory all because I started counting.  

     …I’m thankful for the counting.

     …I’m thankful for the memory brought to life.

     …I’m thankful to writers and bloggers who write what they are learning.  Giving advice along the way..

     …I’m thankful for my Savior, who gave His life as a ransom for mine. 

     …I’m thankful for my husband, children, parents, a brother and a sister, grandparents, family, friends, my church family.

     …I’m thankful I live in a free country.      

     If you have not started counting I encourage you to do so.  Who know what gifts may be revealed to you.  Perhaps you will discover a memory that was filed away and forgotten.        

“Count Your Blessings”

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed,

When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,

Count your many blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

 

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

Count your blessings, see what God hath done!

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

 

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?

Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?

Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,

And you will keep singing as the days go by. 

 

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

Count your blessings, see what God hath done!

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done. 

 

When you look at others with their lands and gold,

Think that Chris has promised you His wealth untold;

Count your many blessings.  Wealth can never buy,

Your reward in heaven, nor your home on high.

 

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

Count your blessings, see what God hath done!

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

 

So, amid the conflict whether great or small,

Do not be disheartened, God is over all;

Count your many blessings, angels will attend,

Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

 

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

Count your blessings, see what God hath done!

Count your blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done. 

DSCN0210

DSCN0204

DSCN0238

I hope this has been an encouragement to you.

DSCN0236

DSCN0211

Counting Nativity Scenes 13 Plus!

Count blessings, Kasey  

     

Leave a Reply

