Counting Blessing…A Savior is Born!

DSCN0242aDSCN0240a

I began counting gifts about the middle of October–shortly after reading Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts.   It couldn’t have been a more perfect time of year.  God’s majesty was on display for all the world to see.  Trees dressed in brilliant colors–bronze, gold, and crimson.  Large, round pumpkins painted orange, scarecrows dressed in faded jeans, apples ripened, chill air, and morning dew that glistened in the sunlight.

I was driving down country-roads, one evening in October, counting gifts: a breath-taking sunset, autumn decorations, and bright orange lights woven through tree branches.  That’s when I began to feel it, a smile upon my lips.  I had not placed it there, it had just appeared.  So stuck was I at its appearance, that I reached up and felt the smile…yes it was truly there.  What joy ran threw me in that moment.  Just as Ann had written in her book, when we give thanks the joy will follow.  Praise God for His Goodness, praise God for His Gifts, and praise God for that smile.

Not only have I began counting gifts, but for the month of December, in honor of our Saviors birth, I have decided to count nativity scenes.  With camara in hand–I’ve been on a hunt–snapping picture after picture of Christ Jesus’ birth.  I hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I enjoyed finding them.

I hope this has been a blessing to you!

Count Blessing, Kasey  

Leave a Reply

